Copyrighted image Credit: BBC The Sound and the Fury is a three-part series on the revolution in 20th century music.

The series features contributions from 20th century music experts, historians and composers, including Alex Ross, Gillian Moore, Head of Contemporary Culture at the Southbank Centre, as well as composers, conductors and performers including: Pierre Boulez, John Adams, Arvo Part, Steve Reich, Peter Maxwell Davies, Mark Anthony Turnage, Harrison Birtwistle, Philip Glass, John Tavener, George Benjamin, Julian Lloyd Webber and Michael Tilson Thomas.

The Sound and the Fury was originally broadcast on BBC Four in February 2013. Use the episode guide below for more information.