3.2 Levels of Reusability

According to Wiley (2000), reusability can be classified at three levels:
1. Reusing in terms of using material as-is; 
2. Reworking in terms of making small changes; 
3. Remixing whereby a user takes materials and substantially changes and/or adds to them.

In addition, UNESCO (2010:1), for example, indicates four levels for reusing content:
• Level 1, Re-branding: adding institutional name, logo, and contact information;
• Level 2, Localizing: adding local examples;
• Level 3, Contextualizing: changing the content and syntax to match characteristics of the local audience and principles espoused by the organization;
• Level 4, Adapting materials for e-learning.

With respect to attributes for reusability, relevant online resources can be reused only if users can find them, and if they are available to be retrieved and modified with permission or an appropriate license. It would be helpful, therefore, if RLC had a number of inherent attributes such as those described below: 
• Searchable: users can find RLC easily through search engines
• Accessible: RLC can be indexed for easy retrieval using metadata standards
• Available: RLC can be modified and versioned for different courses under appropriate reusable license
• Addressable: RLC can be addressed through a recognised URL
• Interoperable: RLC can operate across different hardware and software
• Durable: RLC can remain intact through upgrades to the hardware and software


Last modified: Thursday, 9 October 2014, 12:22 AM