Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Download this course

Share this free course

Exploring learning disabilities: supporting belonging
Exploring learning disabilities: supporting belonging

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

2.1 Learning disability categories

The population of people with learning disabilities is sub-divided according to how severe their learning disability is.

There are four categories:

  1. Profound – people whose IQ is estimated to be below 20, who often have additional complex health needs, and who may need help to eat, move around, communicate and do personal care.

  2. Severe – people who may use a few words or gestures to communicate, are often able to look after their own personal care, but who need assistance with money, cooking, shopping, and possibly mobility.

  3. Moderate – people who can communicate on a basic level, and can carry out everyday tasks with support.

  4. Mild – people who speak fluently and need just a little support, perhaps with budgeting or accessing employment. The people you met in Video 2 would be classed as mildly learning disabled.

Next you will consider learning disability as a social condition.