Skip to content

OU on the BBC: The Secret Life of Books

Updated Thursday, 10th July 2014

Uncover the secrets of six classic works of fiction that we all know and love.

This page was published over five years ago. Please be aware that due to the passage of time, the information provided on this page may be out of date or otherwise inaccurate, and any views or opinions expressed may no longer be relevant. Some technical elements such as audio-visual and interactive media may no longer work. For more detail, see our Archive and Deletion Policy

This page accompanies the first series of The Secret Life of Books - find out about the second series here.

The Secret Life of Books series title overlaying many open books Copyrighted  image Icon Copyright: BBC

About the series

Great Expectations, Jane Eyre, Mrs Dalloway, Frankenstein…just some of the classic works of fiction that we all know and love. But how well do we really know them?

We might remember Rochester and Jane’s sparky dialogue in Jane Eyre or Frankenstein's monster jerking to life in the classic black and white movies…

But these rich and vibrant works have much more to offer us, and in this series our presenters will revisit original texts, manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to reveal new insights into some of the greatest works of literature.

You can watch this series on BBC Four from Tuesday 2nd September 2014 at 8:30pm. More information about this programme and a link to catch up later on iPlayer will be available from the BBC website.




Related content (tags)

Copyright information

For further information, take a look at our frequently asked questions which may give you the support you need.

Have a question?