Europe and the law
Europe and the law

This free course is available to start right now. Review the full course description and key learning outcomes and create an account and enrol if you want a free statement of participation.

Free course

Europe and the law

4 Part C The legal rule-making institutions of the EU

4.1 Overview

The institutions of the EU work towards objectives related to the three pillars and the creation of a body of Community law that applies

  • uniformly

  • in all member states.

The institutions having legal rule-making powers include the European Council, the Council of the European Union, the European Parliament and the European Commission. Finally, there is the European Court of Justice (ECJ), which has the power to settle legal disputes and interpret EU legislation. There are four procedures for enacting new EU laws: co-decision, consultation, cooperation and assent. These will be considered once the functions of each of the legal rule-making institutions have been considered (note that only their legal rule-making powers will be considered; they may also exercise other functions which are beyond the limits of our discussions).


Take your learning further

Making the decision to study can be a big step, which is why you'll want a trusted University. The Open University has 50 years’ experience delivering flexible learning and 170,000 students are studying with us right now. Take a look at all Open University courses.

If you are new to university level study, find out more about the types of qualifications we offer, including our entry level Access courses and Certificates.

Not ready for University study then browse over 900 free courses on OpenLearn and sign up to our newsletter to hear about new free courses as they are released.

Every year, thousands of students decide to study with The Open University. With over 120 qualifications, we’ve got the right course for you.

Request an Open University prospectus