Skip to content

OU on the BBC: The Sound And The Fury

Updated Tuesday, 29th January 2013

In this 3-part documentary series, BBC Four explores a century of modern music, examining composers and their works in a broader cultural context.

This page was published over five years ago. Please be aware that due to the passage of time, the information provided on this page may be out of date or otherwise inaccurate, and any views or opinions expressed may no longer be relevant. Some technical elements such as audio-visual and interactive media may no longer work. For more detail, see our Archive and Deletion Policy

The Sound and the Fury Copyrighted  image Icon Copyright: BBC The Sound and the Fury is a three-part series on the revolution in 20th century music.

The series features contributions from 20th century music experts, historians and composers, including Alex Ross, Gillian Moore, Head of Contemporary Culture at the Southbank Centre, as well as composers, conductors and performers including: Pierre Boulez, John Adams, Arvo Part, Steve Reich, Peter Maxwell Davies, Mark Anthony Turnage, Harrison Birtwistle, Philip Glass, John Tavener, George Benjamin, Julian Lloyd Webber and Michael Tilson Thomas.

The Sound and the Fury was originally broadcast on BBC Four in February 2013. Use the episode guide below for more information.





Related content (tags)

Copyright information

For further information, take a look at our frequently asked questions which may give you the support you need.

Have a question?