2. The Bretton Woods Agreement

2.1 The Bretton Woods Agreement

The foundations for the organisations relating to modern International Economic Law were laid in 1944 with the Bretton Woods Agreement. The Agreement was concluded by 44 Allied States.

The Bretton Woods Agreement grew out of the desire to eradicate the causes that led to the Second World War, the ultimate goal being the creation of a new world economic order.

Activity 3

You should expect to spend approximately 10 minutes on this activity.

Explore the map using your mouse to see which countries were involved in the Bretton Woods Agreement.

An interactive world map that show the countries which were involved in the Bretton Woods agrement.

Active content not displayed. This content requires JavaScript to be enabled, and a recent version of Flash Player to be installed and enabled.
Interactive feature not available in single page view (see it in standard view).


The countries who signed the Bretton Woods Agreement were:

  • Australia
  • India
  • Belgium
  • Iran
  • Bolivia
  • Iraq
  • Brazil
  • Liberia
  • Canada
  • Luxembourg
  • Chile
  • Mexico
  • China
  • Netherlands
  • Colombia
  • New Zealand
  • Costa Rica
  • Nicaragua
  • Cuba
  • Norway
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Panama
  • Dominican Republic
  • Paraguay
  • Ecuador
  • Peru
  • Egypt
  • Philippines
  • El Salvador
  • Poland
  • Ethiopia
  • Union of South Africa
  • France
  • Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
  • Greece
  • The United Kingdom
  • Guatemala
  • The United States
  • Haiti
  • Uruguay
  • Honduras
  • Venezuela
  • Iceland
  • Yugoslavia

1.2 Multiple choice questions

2.2 Multiple choice questions