2 ICT levels

ICT level descriptors are provided from Level 1 to Exceptional performance above Level 8. An assumption is made that most students will enter Year 7 at Level 4 or above. The QCDA provide descriptors [Tip: hold Ctrl and click a link to open it in a new tab. (Hide tip)] . The document, National curriculum ICT levels may be more accessible.


Consider the activities that your students engage in that produce evidence for a minimum of three descriptors at Levels 4 and 5. In your practice select two pieces of work for each level for inclusion in a portfolio of evidence.

How might you move your students to the next level?

Consider the type of activity that the student would need to engage in. How does this affect your planning for assessment for future cohorts?

Key to this aspect is an understanding of the key processes:

  • Finding information
  • Developing ideas
  • Communicating information
  • Evaluating.

The processes increase in complexity and intellectual effort as students progress through the yearly learning objectives.

Note on using lists

Assessment amounts to more than matching a student’s work against a published set of criteria. Lists, such as that included with this resource, should be used with caution and as an aid to teacher judgement and understanding. You are reminded of Resource 1 in which the ICT programme of study was considered. Factors that contribute to a student’s work must be considered alongside the final pieces of evidence.

1 Exploring the National Curriculum

3 Planning for assessment