Facilitating learning in practice
Facilitating learning in practice

This free course is available to start right now. Review the full course description and key learning outcomes and create an account and enrol if you want a free statement of participation.

Free course

Facilitating learning in practice

2.1 The developmental framework

The NMC regards mentoring as part of a developmental framework that extends from registration as a nurse or midwife and extends to encompass senior practitioners practising in teacher roles (Figure 3). At each stage there is an increasingly complex set of competency outcomes that require demonstration. Mentoring is positioned at stage 2 in this developmental framework. Over time there is no reason why nurses should not be able to develop increased competence and pursue roles as practice teachers and teachers if the entry requirements determined by the NMC can be met.

Described image
Figure 3 NMC developmental framework

To set the mentor role in context, the NMC define five principles that underpin the practices of each stage. These are labelled in Figure 3 as A to E and are explained in Table 2.

Table 2 NMC principles for supporting learning and assessment

Principle NMC advice and guidance relating to
A Due regard
B Continuing professional development
C Level of qualification necessary to support learners
D Preparation for role and demonstration of achievement of outcomes
E For teacher – Stage 4 only

Mentorship programme

If you are undertaking this study as part of an NMC mentor preparation programme, you will find further information on each of these principles in Section 1.3 (‘Advice and guidance for applying the underpinning principles’) of Standards to Support Learning and Assessment in Practice (NMC, 2008).

The NMC defines eight domains for supporting learning and assessment (Table 3).

Table 3 NMC domains for supporting learning and assessment

Domain Category or focus of the domain
1 Establishing effective working relationships
2 Facilitation of learning
3 Assessment and accountability
4 Evaluation of learning
5 Creating an environment for learning
6 Context of practice
7 Evidence-based practice
8 Leadership

Mentorship programme

If you are studying this as part of an NMC mentorship preparation programme, you need to know that these eight domains form the overarching competencies that you will need to demonstrate by providing suitable evidence in your portfolio for KG006 Facilitating learning in practice: mentorship portfolio assessment. If you have registered for KG006, it might be helpful at this point to open your portfolio to the section on ‘Records of achievement’ to get a feel for these domains (you might find it easier to consider domains as ‘categories’) and their related competencies.


Take your learning further

Making the decision to study can be a big step, which is why you'll want a trusted University. The Open University has nearly 50 years’ experience delivering flexible learning and 170,000 students are studying with us right now. Take a look at all Open University courses.

If you are new to university level study, find out more about the types of qualifications we offer, including our entry level Access courses and Certificates.

Not ready for University study then browse over 900 free courses on OpenLearn and sign up to our newsletter to hear about new free courses as they are released.

Every year, thousands of students decide to study with The Open University. With over 120 qualifications, we’ve got the right course for you.

Request an Open University prospectus