Facilitating learning in practice
Facilitating learning in practice

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

Free course

Facilitating learning in practice

4.1 Bloom’s domains

Bloom’s model consists of three domains. When Bloom used the term ‘domain’ he was referring to set values that share similar properties. Bloom’s three domains are identified as:

  • cognitive
  • affective
  • psychomotor.

Cognitive domain

The cognitive domain is the most used part of the model and the domain that is most prominent when you engage in any search on Bloom’s Taxonomy. It is also this domain that has seen the more significant modification, with Lorin Anderson (a former student of Bloom’s) changing the categories from noun to verb formats, engaging in minor sequencing readjustment of the two higher-order categories (see Figure 4) and creating a process and levels of knowledge matrix. (You could optionally explore this at the end of this week’s content if you are using this study as part of an NMC mentor preparation programme.)

The original domain reflected learning development through the thinking skills shown in Figure 3.

Described image
Figure 3 Bloom’s original cognitive domain

Anderson and Krathwohl’s (2001) adaptations are shown in Figure 4.

Described image
Figure 4 Adapted cognitive domain (Anderson and Krathwohl, 2001)

Note the changes in categories in Figure 4 compared with Bloom’s original proposition (Figure 3) from noun to verb formats and the minor sequencing readjustment of the two higher-order categories, as mentioned above.

Affective domain

The affective domain is concerned with values, or more precisely perhaps with perception of value issues, and ranges from awareness (receiving), through to being able to distinguish implicit values through analysis. This domain is represented in Figure 5.

Described image
Figure 5 Bloom’s affective domain

Psychomotor domain

Bloom never completed work on the psychomotor domain (Figure 6), although others have attempted to complete the model. As with other domains, what is proposed is a model of skills acquisition (like the models you looked at earlier in this study).

Described image
Figure 6 Psychomotor domain adapted from Bloom’s original work (based on Dave (1975))

Take your learning further

Making the decision to study can be a big step, which is why you'll want a trusted University. The Open University has 50 years’ experience delivering flexible learning and 170,000 students are studying with us right now. Take a look at all Open University courses.

If you are new to university level study, find out more about the types of qualifications we offer, including our entry level Access courses and Certificates.

Not ready for University study then browse over 900 free courses on OpenLearn and sign up to our newsletter to hear about new free courses as they are released.

Every year, thousands of students decide to study with The Open University. With over 120 qualifications, we’ve got the right course for you.

Request an Open University prospectus