16.5 Saving the configuration
Watch the video below, which is about 1 minute long. It demonstrates how the configuration is saved.
Saving the configuration
In the network’s current state, if there was a power cut, all the configuration changes we have made would be lost. This is because all the changes that we have made are in the running config. When a router turns on, it copies the config from the startup config to the running config. But currently our startup cofig is empty. You can see the running configuration by typing show running-config. Likewise if you want to see the startup config you can use show startup-config.
To save the config we need to use the command copy running-config startup-config. This will copy all the information from the running config to the startup config. The shortest form of this command is actually wr. This does exactly the same as copy run start.
Activity 11 Think about
Packet Tracer Anywhere does not allow a configuration to be saved (unlike Packet Tracer itself). What are the implications of this if you are building a complicated network of if your computer suddenly fails?
With a really complicated network you probably wouldn’t want to construct it and configure it in one long session. You would probably want to do it in stages with a break between, and save your work at the end of each session. That is not possible with PT Anywhere. Also, if your computer suddenly failed you would lose any work you had done setting up or configuring the network.