Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Download this course

Share this free course

Aquatic mammals
Aquatic mammals

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

1.3.3 The order Cetacea

The cetaceans get their name from the Greek word ‘ketos’ meaning ‘whale’. The order is divided into two suborders: the Odontoceti, or toothed whales, which include the sperm whale, killer whale, dolphins and porpoises; and the Mysticeti, or baleen whales, which include the blue whale, right whale and humpback whale, and are named for the brush-like plates that they use to filter krill from the water.

Download this video clip.Video player: Video 2 Humpback whale feeding
Video 2 Humpback whale feeding
Interactive feature not available in single page view (see it in standard view).