Understanding devolution in Wales
Understanding devolution in Wales

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

Free course

Understanding devolution in Wales

5.2 LCOs

With secondary law-making powers, AMs could propose ‘legislative competence orders’ (LCOs) in 20 defined areas of policy and it would then be up to the Houses of Parliament to pass them.

  • Areas of policy:
  • agriculture, fisheries, forestry and rural development
  • ancient monuments and historic buildings
  • culture
  • economic development
  • education and training
  • environment
  • fire and rescue services and promotion of fire safety
  • food
  • health and health services
  • highways and transport
  • housing
  • local government
  • National Assembly for Wales
  • public administration
  • social welfare
  • sport and recreation
  • tourism
  • town and country planning
  • water and flood defence
  • Welsh language

Any areas not listed were considered non-devolved and would be matters on which the UK Parliament would legislate.

This system was not effective as it relied on time being made available at Westminster. In the first two years of operation, only four LCOs passed. Proposals which were politically difficult were delayed or abandoned for example, an attempt by the Assembly to prohibit the ‘right to buy’ council houses.


Take your learning further

Making the decision to study can be a big step, which is why you'll want a trusted University. The Open University has 50 years’ experience delivering flexible learning and 170,000 students are studying with us right now. Take a look at all Open University courses.

If you are new to University-level study, we offer two introductory routes to our qualifications. You could either choose to start with an Access module, or a module which allows you to count your previous learning towards an Open University qualification. Read our guide on Where to take your learning next for more information.

Not ready for formal University study? Then browse over 1000 free courses on OpenLearn and sign up to our newsletter to hear about new free courses as they are released.

Every year, thousands of students decide to study with The Open University. With over 120 qualifications, we’ve got the right course for you.

Request an Open University prospectus371