13.1.2  Classification of psychoses

There are four different forms of psychosis, classified in terms of their onset, duration and possible outcomes. Being able to identify, and distinguish between, these four types is the starting point for effective treatment. They are:

  • Acute psychoses
  • Chronic psychoses
  • Recurrent psychoses
  • Organic psychoses.

We will discuss each of them in turn.

13.1.1  The effects of psychosis

13.2  Acute psychoses