Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Download this course

Share this free course

Understanding devolution in Wales
Understanding devolution in Wales

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

6 The Fourth Assembly (2011-2016)

The Fourth Assembly took place against a period of relative political calm. Labour had 30 seats in the Assembly so were able to govern without a coalition partner. The main tensions stemmed from relations with the Westminster government which was formed by a Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition.

The Assembly assumed primary legislative powers on 5 May 2011. It could now make laws in the 20 areas devolved to Wales without recourse to Westminster. The first piece of legislation passed was the Local Government (Byelaws) Wales Bill in November 2011.