Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Become an OU student

Download this course

Share this free course

The Scottish Parliament and law making
The Scottish Parliament and law making

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

4.1 The UK Government

The UK Government of the day is generally formed by the political party which has the most MPs elected to the House of Commons. The Prime Minister will usually be the leader of the largest political party (i.e. the one with the most seats). The Prime Minister selects a large team of ministers to run each of the Government departments. The head of each department is usually a Secretary of State and sits in the Cabinet. The Cabinet is the group of approximately 20 senior Government ministers who are responsible for running the Government departments of state and deciding Government policy. For example, the Secretary of State for Scotland (Scottish Secretary), whose role is to promote and protect the devolution settlement and who has responsibilities which include promoting partnership between the UK government and the Scottish government, and relations between the two Parliaments.

Scotland Office
Figure 7 Scotland Office
The Scottish Office Whitehall
Figure 8 The Scottish Office Whitehall