Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Download this course

Share this free course

In the night sky: Orion
In the night sky: Orion

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

3.2.6 The Local group

An image of the night sky.
Figure 11 The Local Group, includes over 30 galaxies such as our Milky Way, Andromeda, and the Magellanic Clouds

There are billions of galaxies in our Universe. Most of these are clumped together in groups.

Our Galaxy, The Milky Way, lies within a group of galaxies that are called ‘The Local Group’. The Local Group consists of about 30 galaxies. The three largest are the Andromeda galaxy, the Milky Way galaxy, and Triangulum. The Local Group is part of the much larger Virgo Supercluster of galaxies.

The Milky Way contains the debris of the many smaller galaxies it has encountered and devoured in the past, and it is currently absorbing the Sagittarius dwarf elliptical galaxy.

Help to discover more about galaxies with the Galaxy Zoo project you’ll hear about in the next section.