Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Download this course

Share this free course

The use of force in international law
The use of force in international law

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

The Law of The Hague and the Law of Geneva

Traditionally, the law of armed conflict is divided into two branches: the Law of Geneva and the Law of the Hague (Figure 4).

Described image
Figure 4 The two legal arms of IHL

In this course, we will focus on the four Geneva Conventions of 1949 and the three Additional Protocols of the Geneva Conventions (AP I and II 1977, AP III 2005), which create the core of the legal framework of protection for victims of armed conflict. Aim to familiarise yourself with the relevant provisions of the Geneva Conventions related to the various issues discussed in this section.