Skip to content
Skip to main content

About this free course

Download this course

Share this free course

The law-making process in England and Wales
The law-making process in England and Wales

Start this free course now. Just create an account and sign in. Enrol and complete the course for a free statement of participation or digital badge if available.

8 Devolution – transfer of powers

Described image
Figure 8 Map of the United Kingdom

Figure 8 is a map of the United Kingdom, which identifies the four different countries that constitute it. In this part of the course you will explore the concept of devolved power from the Westminster Parliament to the recognised bodies of the Welsh Assembly, Scottish Parliament and Northern Ireland Assembly.

Devolution is the transference of power from central government to local government. Since 1999 the decentralisation of power from the Westminster government has taken place. Certain matters that were once dealt with in London are now distributed to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Since devolution has taken place we now have the Welsh Assembly in Cardiff, the Northern Ireland Assembly in Belfast and the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh.

Watch this short film, which provides some additional information on devolution and outlines some of the powers that have been transferred to different parts of the UK.

Download this video clip.Video player: Devolution – transfer of powers
Copy this transcript to the clipboard
Print this transcript
Show transcript|Hide transcript
Devolution – transfer of powers
Interactive feature not available in single page view (see it in standard view).

As this course is discussing the law that governs England and Wales, the focus will be on devolution in Wales.